100 Day Challenge

Well this is not what this blog is about but I have decided to get in shape and get healthy. Now if you have known me for more than 10 minutes, you know that I have said that more than once even since January. But I looked in the mirror this weekend and I did not like what I saw…at all. Not because I feel like I need to be thin or slim or anything unrealistic but because I want to be healthy and strong. I want to be able to run around the yard with my son and not get winded or tired. I want to be able to look in the mirror and know that, even with all my imperfections, I am strong and independent and proud of myself.

I saw an article on the facebook today about a mom and daughter who challenged themselves to go to the gym and eat better for 100 days. They did it and lost about 80 pounds between them. Now there is no way that I am going to be able to do that and maintain sanity. There is just no physical way for that to happen with my schedule. But I can challenge myself to go to the gym 4 days per week and to make better, healthier food and drink choices. So that’s what I’m going to do.

Starting April 1, 2015, for the next 100 days, I challenge myself to the following:

  1. Go to the gym 4 days per week
  2. Get 30 minutes of physical activity every day regardless of whether or not it is a gym day
  3. To make better food and drink choices
  4. I will go back to drinking 64 ounces of water per day

No unrealistic goal. No crazy expectations. No weight loss number. I will focus on strength and endurance and feeling better.

Thanks for listening and I hope that you will join me in this challenge!

2 thoughts on “100 Day Challenge

  1. mkbsmith says:

    Good luck! You have got this!!! I would recommend breaking down your goals into even smaller steps across the weeks as opposed to doing all 4 at once. Which one has top priority for you? Then I would start there (Maybe the 30 minute one) and since it’s supposed to be pretty, play tag with your son for 30 minutes. If he is like my kid, he will love to do “exercises” with you! Now I am inspired to do the same (after I devour this Cajun Filet biscuit on my desk!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Stitches, Seams & Sass says:

      Yeah I tried to keep it general because I know if I try to change a whole lot I will wind up not doing anything. My 30 minutes a day is literally just some form of walking or whatever for an approximate 30 minutes throughout the day even if it’s a combined amount of time throughout the whole day. I’m looking forward to having a few days off coming up too so maybe that will help me jumpstart a few things. 🙂 It’s OK that you are having a biscuit! You can’t deprive yourself! 😉 But working out and fitness is more fun with friends so you should totally do this with me!

      Like

I would love to hear from you!

